Arts & Culture
Contact Us

Taganrog City Council (Duma)

In 1802 by the highest order of Alexander I Taganrog was granted the status of borough (incorporated municipality). Such status with special privileges was offered to cities that played a special role in the life of Russia, and allowed local authorities to solve problems directly. October 8, 1802 was issued the nominal decree of the Emperor Alexander I "On division of Novorossiysk province into three provinces: Nikolaevskaya, Yekaterinoslavskaya and Tavricheskaya, and creation of legal bodies there". The created provinces had to be guided by the rules established for all Russian provinces in terms of staff and mode of administration, except four seaports: Odessa, Kherson, Taganrog and Feodosiya.

In 1831 the City Council was reshaped on the basis of principles of the representative democracy officially open in Taganrog. The first Dumas were six-voices, i.e. consisted of six deputies (aldermen). In their administration were organization of trade, provision of food to the population, city’s economy, city's development and others tasks.

Alexander III put a final point on the mayorship of the city of Taganrog after his visit to Novocherkassk in 1887. By the highest Decree of January 1, 1888 both Rostov and Taganrog were included into Don Voisko Province (Don Cossack Host). Taganrog's borough status was terminated. After inclusion of Taganrog into Don Voisko Province, all solutions of Duma needed approval by the Don Cossack Host’s ataman.

The soviet administration was established in Taganrog on January 22, 1918. Anton Glushko headed the first local soviet. From March to May 1918, the Ukrainian Soviet government stayed in Taganrog during Ukraine’s occupation by German troops. Taganrog itself was under German occupation May - August 1918. In August 1918, Don Cossacks took the control of the city.

During Civil War, commander of "White Russian Volunteer Army", General Anton Denikin made Taganrog his residence and headquarters for almost two years. At the end of 1919, Denikin troops left Taganrog. The Red Army troops entered the city on December 24, 1919. The full power was given to the executive committee of The City Soviet of Deputies on December 17, 1920. The special form of self-management – "Soviets" was established.

In World War II, 1941-1943, the local government system was replaced by Bürgermeisteramt or "New Russian local government". After liberation of the city in August 1943, the Soviet local government system was restored.

In 1991 the reform of Councils began. The institution of the Heads of Administrations was created. The Head of Administration was assigned from above in coordination with the Local Council. In 1993 the Municipal Council was dismissed as the new constitutional regulations regarding local government were established.

In December 1996 on the basis of the Regulations of the city and in accordance with current legislation, the regular election to the City Council (Duma) was conducted. In the same time for the first time in a history of the city the elections of the highest functionary of the city – Mayor were held. 

The most recent City Council (Duma) elections were held in Taganrog on September 8, 2019. Twenty-five deputies were elected to the new City Council.

September 18, 2019 Ms. Inna Titarenko was endorsed as President of Taganrog City Council and City Executive.

Inna Titarenko, City Council Chair


flag and coat of arms bar

Taganrog Coat of Arms